Skip to content

From Me to You

August 25, 2012

From Me to You

At my very last M.F.A. residency, poet William Heyen passed out these little laminated index card poems to everyone during the class he hosted. The point he was making, I believe (and I may be entirely incorrect in my remembering), was that sharing was a mercenary act of publication. In any case, I’ve had this on my desk for a while now and I’m not one to keep a poem to myself.

If you can’t read the words, I’ll type out the text here:

EVENSONG

Now it is too late not
to kiss goodbye

to all I might have been + done
if only

I’d not kept faith with you
+ you with me

all my years, my soul,
my poetry.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

